And now I would like to tell you of my Tibetan sojourns in the late 1980’s.

I was listening to a tape of David Hykes Harmonic Choir (Hearing Solar Winds) while meditating. I was contemplating on my recent gifting of the ability to sing overtones. (I have a mini site on this at http://www.squidoo.com/harmonicsinging) I wondered how and where this ability came from. Not much time passed when I found myself in a young boy’s (10 years old) mind. I once again lost my identity in him. He was of Tibetan origin. He was dressed in silken robes and a large hat shaped like a crown with black tassels hanging down in front of it. He was sitting on a platform covered by a rug. This platform was being carried by four Buddhist monks up a narrow passageway in a long narrow room filled with other monks. These monks were chanting in overtones (not quite like the tape I was listening to, but more like the traditional chants). This boys mind was completely still with no thought in it. I probably was the only ripple in it. A moment later, I was back in my body and my room.

Shortly after, I came upon an audio cassette of the Gyuto Monks Overtone Chanting.  On the inner sleeve that was included with it

were pictures of these monks in performance.  They were all decked out in heavy-looking silken robes and large hats shaped like crowns with tassels hanging down, just like the one the boy wore in my experience.  This was the first time that  I ever saw this!

Another time, not too long after, I had another experience with the same young man. It was during a rebirthing session. I found myself sitting on the floor next to him in a room that was dimly lit by a single yak oil candle. He looked a few years older this time. There was a book lying on the floor in front of him. It had long horizontal pages with the front and back covers made of wood. It was open to a page with some Sanskrit writing on it. He began to sing the chant that was in the book. He directed me to chant along with him. I started to chant and found that I could easily follow him. He continued to flip the pages as we chanted the words in it. Then we got to the end. Next, he instructed me in what he called the Dragon Breath. It was an odd kind with a somewhat forceful and sustained out breath. I did this kind of breathing for several minutes instead of the circular rebirthing breath that I started out with. After that, I came out if it and was back in the room. I came to the end of the rebirthing session. The person who was facilitating the session told me that when she noticed that I was breathing differently, she was going to interrupt it and get me back to the circular breath. But, when she started to feel the vortices coming from me hit her, she decided against it. She said they were so powerful, they almost knocked her down.

I don’t know the identity of this young man or if he was/is real.  I don’t know the exact era either.  But I did learn somethings and found some corroboration of sorts.  I have also often contemplated trying that weird breathing technique that I learned back then, but have been too skittish to do it.